Log in

Create a user profile using your existing professional profile on LinkedIn, Academia, or ResearchGate.

Alternatively, register a username and password to start an account.

By creating an account you will be able to contribute articles, engage in discussion groups, network with fellow professionals and businesses, and receive interest-related alerts.

Forgot Password

Please enter your email address below and you will receive a temporary link to re-activate your account

Spheres of SA Government, responsibilities and delivery

Article image

Suzan Oelofse

01 September 2010


uKESA Librarian, Suzan Oelofse

Book chapter

Council for Scientific and Industrial Research

South Africa

The institutional framework for government in South Africa was established in 1996 with the adoption of the first democratic Constitution. National, provincial and local government was established as three elected spheres of government, each with distinctive but interdependent and interrelated functional responsibilities. The new local sphere of government was created by amalgamating over 800 municipalities into 283 municipalities. This chapter discusses the responsibilities of the Government with regards to waste management, and the ways in which it can deliver. Implications for future waste management in SA concludes the chapter.


Website References

Built environment


Human settlements

Solid waste management

South Africa



View Contributors:


No comments available